Not much success with CBT, triggers evolving again

Since I last updated my blog several months ago, significant changes have occurred with my trigger noises, and I haven’t had much luck with cognitive behavioral therapy.

As I’ve written about in the past, I did not think CBT would every be a cure for misophonia, but I was willing to try it if it would help me cope with some of my negative feelings associated with hearing trigger sounds.

I tried the classic CBT techniques. I exposed myself to trigger noises and tried to calm myself with breathing or relaxation techniques to try to bring down my negative emotions while experiencing the trigger sound. I’ve used CBT with certain phobias, and had some pretty good success, but I didn’t have that same success when using it for misophonia. If someone else has, I’d love to hear about any particular techniques that were useful.

Relaxation and breathing techniques, however, did appear helpful at calming me down after I was able to escape the sound that was causing my negative emotions. Without using relaxation techniques, I can find that too much exposure to a trigger noise can send me into an awful mood for minutes after getting away from the sound. Does that happen to anyone else? It’s like I still hear the sound in my head even though the sound has stopped, and I dwell on it.

Relaxation techniques such as deep-belly breathing have helped me not dwell on those trigger noises after they’ve passed. That’s something at least.

Another challenge I faced while trying to use CBT was that I got passed around to two different therapists, and neither of them had heard of misophonia. It takes a while to educate a therapist about misophonia, and it was particularly frustrating to go through that process multiple times. I’m no longer seeing a therapist regularly.

The newest trigger that’s been impacting my life is the nose whistle. In particular, the whistle my partner’s nose makes while my partner is sleeping. I end up wearing earplugs to sleep every night, in addition to wearing them often while at work if a coworker is eating or chewing gum (which happens frequently). I get occasional ear pain and worry that wearing ear plugs all the time could lead to an ear infection, but it’s still the best way to keep myself sane and functioning.

That’s all the progress (or lack thereof) to report for now. Some visitors to the site asked for an update. As a side note, I wanted to say that I never expected this many people to find my blog and find value in it. I’m happy that this is one of the sites people go to when realizing they have misophonia, a condition so many others have. Thanks for reading, and please make sure to visit other resources to help you learn more about this condition we share.

37 responses

  1. Oh. My. God. I just happened to stumble across this and I can’t believe that this is an actual thing. I’ve always wondered what was wrong with me, it feels good to know that I am not alone! My hatred of sound started around 12 with the sounds of my parents chewing. But now there are a lot of different triggers that cause me to become nearly violent. It’s bad. I have to sleep with a fan every night as it’s the only way I can fall asleep, but if my fan starts making any unusual repeatative noises I lose it. I’ve literally had to go to walmart at 4 in the morning to buy a new fan because I threw mine against a wall. The chewing is bad, and it seems to be worse with the people I’m closest to which is really sad because in the moment when they are causing the trigger I feel so much hatred towards them even though it’s not there fault. I can’t even watch my mom or my fiancé chew because it has the same effect. I want to seek help but I’m sure no one in my area is educated on the topic and from reading this blog it doesn’t seem like there is much success with treatment.

  2. I hate fidgeting and picking, too. I usually wear sunglasses in public, even on dark, rainy days, to filter out some of the visual stimuli. I sit in the front row at movies, so I can’t see people in front of me picking. I only take public transport with friends, which distracts me enough and keeps me from having an angry outburst. I also have learned to forgive myself when I freak out on another person. And I have learned to accept my profoundly introverted nature. But my contempt for others is hard to live with….

  3. My living hell goes even further than anger toward sounds.
    I detest ppl biting and picking their finger nails. I could just scream. I’ve asked and explained my crazy to ppl and they just continue doing those things that aggitate me soooooo bad!!! They laugh and say I’m crazy! I”ve had to remove myself. It has affected my social life. I hate myself. I need help!
    I’ve had to eliminate certain ppl

  4. I always thought that it was “just me.” I’ve been sensitive to tapping, smacking, etc but it wasn’t until I was going through nursing school when I was 20 that I began to experience physical reactions (and a screaming, internal “OH MY GOSH JUST STOP”) to humming, whistling, and the way some people pronounce “s.” Of course, these triggers are produced by the people that I love the most… 😦

    Thank you so much for blogging about your journey! It is nice to know that I’m not just being an oversensitive jerk, which is how I often feel.

  5. I’m 16 and I think I may have this. I wear earplugs to school and my mom has been really supportive through all of it. She seems to have had it when she was younger, but the noises don’t bother her anymore. Not sure if it’s because her hearing has gotten worse, or if she’s just given up on fighting. Fighting as in she has been angered to the point where it causes too much energy to even try.

    I called a guy, Tom Dozier, yesterday and he gave me some tips that could help. He said it’s ideal to wear headphones with white noise or noise canceling instead of just earplugs. It’s difficult to wear headphones all day during school. So, I may just wear earplugs, and put the headphones on top when I can.

    These past few years have been stressful. My mom found out she had stage 4 breast cancer 2 and a half years ago. No recurrence, or we weren’t aware of any, until this past summer. They found a brain tumor. She has been good until a few weeks ago when she had another scan. The report from the scan said that there could be a tumor…but they couldn’t tell if it is scar tissue or a tumor. We have to wait another 2 weeks until she can redu the scan and on the 28th of January she has an appointment that’ll tell her what it is.

    I get really scared when I read the stories about it only getting worse. I also see that it’s worse with stress. Since it’s been very stressful for me, will it get better when things have calmed down? Do you guys have any suggestions for me to do to help? Will it get worse? It’s so scary. If anyone would talk to me on the phone or at least message me it would help so much. I don’t want to be in misery for the rest of my life. Are you guys very unhappy?

    1. Hi Shaina,

      I have had misophonia since I was 4. I’d be glad to speak with you about the many ways I managed it until recently I found relief. I am very very happy – excited about life every day. I am sorry you have the challenge of your mother’s illness to work through right now. I would be glad to write or speak with you and just listen or help you find other resources to support you. You can reply to me at BSuma1232 (at) gmail.com. I will respond – please add “From Shaina” in the Subject line of your message. Hang in there – keep your chin up!!

    2. Hi Shaina,

      I wanted to respond to you, as another youngish person (who am I kidding, I’m 29) but I discovered my misophonia when I was about 13. My triggers did expand during the first decade or so – meaning that I went from only being triggered by my parents’ sounds (gum chewing, lip smacking while eating, sniffing, etc) to also being triggered by these sounds when made by strangers or other friends/family. It does make life a bit harder, but my case has not continued to progress and get worse, and seems to have stagnated. If I am stressed out generally, I react more strongly to sounds. But if I am at a good place in my life, generally feeling relaxed, I find myself more able to tolerate trigger sounds. I don’t know if this helps others, but personally I’d try to find ways to take care of yourself – meditation, exercise, enough sleep, hobbies you love – this should make you generally more relaxed and might help you tolerate your trigger sounds more.

      The thing that helps me most though is to be prepared. I keep earplugs in all my pockets and purses, so I’m never caught without them. If I’m in line at the post office behind a gum-popper, I can just put my earplugs in and feel better. I use the flesh-colored (well, my flesh) earplugs so that other people can’t see them easily. I get them from Rite Aid, and they are strong enough to block my background trigger sounds, but i can also hear normal volume speech and participate in conversations with people around me.

      I’m so sorry to hear about your mother, and it wouldn’t surprise me if the stress of that experience was making it harder to tolerate the sounds. But I don’t think you need to worry about it getting worse as you get older, necessarily. Sometimes I think there’s a self-fulfilling aspect to my condition: if I tell myself “I can’t handle this sound” then my anxiety escalates. So instead of telling myself that this is just going to get worse and that I can’t handle it, I tell myself that it may even get easier and that I can handle it. In fact, though I am still quite sensitive, my anxiety about sounds has gone down slightly in the last few years. I have a job, lots of friends, a boyfriend whom I love, and I don’t feel disabled or limited by misophonia. I’m just careful to bring earplugs everywhere and have a sound machine to bring when I sleep in potentially noisy environments. Learning to manage your symptoms will give you more confidence and there is no reason to think that it will get worse or become debilitating for you.

      I hope your mother has good news at the end of this month.

      1. Thanks so much (to you both) for responding! How did you deal with it while in a school setting? I found that when on vacation, my triggers aren’t really triggers anymore. It bothers me, but not to the point like it does in school. However, on vacations, I usually go to visit my dad. He lives in Oregon now, used to live in Florida. It might be that being away from my home is the key, where the cancer is everpresent and the mood is just different during school.

        When you finished school did it get easier? What were some things that helped you during school?

        1. Hey Shaina, sorry it took me so long.

          During school, I dealt with it best by sitting in the back, when possible, so nobody could make sounds behind me. I also brought earplugs to school every day if I needed them. Generally, if I get some that weren’t TOO good at blocking sound, I can still hear the teacher talking but not hear the quiet, distracting sounds of students around me. I still do this – I wear earplugs when I talk to my parents, and they don’t even know! I’ve done this for years, but because I can still hear through them (unless my parents start speaking really quietly or whispering), I can carry on conversations and listen without hearing smacking and sniffing and other triggers.

          My symptoms get better or worse based on stress, like yours. I think mine were worst a few years after college, but they have improved a bit since. I’m happier now than I was then. Some things are always triggers for me – sometimes, if I’m in a good mood or out in a big group, some gum popping might not bother me as much as it would otherwise.

          One of my hardest times was when I had a coworker who popped her gum. I wore earplugs or headphones every day at work but could still hear it. It would make me so stressed, and that stress would carry on at home. If I’m more relaxed and less exposed to triggers on a regular basis, I’m less likely to be stressed when I hear them. So try to reduce your exposure somewhat – through earplugs or headphones, and also practice relaxation techniques. I think the more relaxed you are, and the less constant trigger onslaught you feel, the easier you will be able to deal with triggers when they do come up. Good luck!

  6. Hi, message to the ower of the blog

    Passage from your blog :
    “”Relaxation and breathing techniques, however, did appear helpful at calming me down after I was able to escape the sound that was causing my negative emotions. Without using relaxation techniques, I can find that too much exposure to a trigger noise can send me into an awful mood for minutes after getting away from the sound. Does that happen to anyone else? It’s like I still hear the sound in my head even though the sound has stopped, and I dwell on it.””

    I do face the same thing you notice at the end of your paragraph. My brain catches some sounds even the sound is over. Examples : been to ATM and there is this sound when you fill up your personal code. The sound stayed in my head for long minutes, the same 10 days before, I took my guitar and I played kind of soft arpejo with repetitive notes. Then I noticed the sound in my head. Unfortunately I catch some sounds that stays it is like tinnitus but coming from real noise. I had only one tinnitus for 6 years and I wear hearing aids, but now I have different tinnitus and this problem with sound staying in my mind.
    Did you, from your experience or/and from any doctor you have seen before, know was is it ? I mean is there any name for this stuff ?
    Thank you in advance

  7. Has anyone tried the Neuroprogrammer 3? After a particularly desperate morning with the neighbors dogs- over 10 years with the same problem- I stumbled across it online. I, too have noticed that when I gently appeal to the one making theoffending noise and they make an effort, it really lessens my anxiety response. I live in the country and often lament that I cannot walk down the road and enjoy nature without this distressing reactions to triggers. My husband is so sympathetic after 35 years of marriage, and wants to sell the house so I can get some peace. But I told him that my head would find another stressor. It seems to get worse with age: I am 60.

    1. I am not familiar with that particular NFB program but I have been using the Neuroptimal system with success. I have rented the unit–not cheap–but it has been incredibly helpful. I’ve had about 25 sessions thus far. What I notice is that I still feel annoyed when I hear the offending noises however my body does not react the same–namely, my heart does not race like it used to. It is like I am reacting cognitively vs physiologically, if that makes sense? I cannot say i am “cured” but I would highly recommend. You can buy the system for $5500, which includes 300 sessions. Or you can go to their website and find one to rent. For me it has been $200/week which allows you 3 sessions, plus $240 for initial and final sessions with the PsyD. Really worth it if you can afford it. Hope this helps!

      1. Thank you for responding, Cecilia. This is way out of my price range 😦 but I will poke around on their website. Perhaps going to a neurofeedback practioner which is covered by my insurance might help. Even a little relief would be most welcome. Thanks again.

        1. You are most welcome. I did some NFB back in the Spring with a different system/practitioner and my insurance did cover it. The treatment is considered experimental since there isn’t really any research on it treating misophonia (and most providers still don’t know what that is). My insurance denied it at first, “not a covered benefit,” and I was going to give up but hubby convinced me to appeal just once. I did and it was approved (a few sessions at a time of course, total of 11). Since then i have paid out of pocket (long story, had a bad practitioner). Just thought I would share 🙂 Good luck!

          1. Cecilia, thanks for sharing your experiences with NFB. Can I ask, what Diagnosis Code was used to bill your insurance? I have excellent insurance, and will look into having NFB service billed under insurnace.
            We all know misophonia, no matter how real, is not recognized as specific disease by the American Medical Association codes. My MD has “abnormal hearing” listed in my file.
            If you happen to have any paperwork that shows what procedure code or diagnosis code was used for insurance to recognize and pay for NFB, please share with me so I can pursue it. (You have no idea how much money, time, and effort I’ve put in this year out of my pocket and at some times covered by insurance)Something, someday, will work.
            Thanks!

            1. Soooo my insurance company does not use the traditional CPT code system, however the first practitioner I met with said NFB doesn’t have its own code so is billed as 90901 which is a general biofeedback code. Good luck!!

  8. Well, like everyone else, I didn’t know there was a name to my impatience & irritability from noises until my therapist mentioned it. The subject came up because I expressed feeling extremely negative about myself for being so “picky”. So, after searching the web, I came upon this blog but haven’t had time to really read about much yet. One of my biggest triggers is GUM… oh how I hate loud gum chewing/snapping/bubble bursting! I chew gum everyday and no one is aware of it because I am considerate. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone out there has tried hypnosis?

    1. Hello Susan, I have tried it. have also tried temporal tapping, prozac, buspar, a list of others, long term therapy, short term and on and on. I always say I could buy a new car with all I have put into this. In the end, it is a condition of hyper focus on the noise. I can go on and on about all my triggers. I have a very debilitating level of this. food noises, coughing, snorting and just about all human normal noises, dogs barking chickens crowing, people dragging their feet and on and on. I daily attack this, or when I have the guts and patience by trying to expose myself to the sounds in controlled times, when I can alter my state way up. I live where there are dogs barking just about all day and night. So for me, just to remove headphones, is a walk on the wild side. If I am very scared, the aggravation and pain is gone. First learned this while a bunch of dags were barking and someone was trying to break into my house in the early morning hours. These huge emotional states give a window into this condition, this hyper focus. Get someone to chew for you when in this heightened state and you will be very surprised, the pain turns to pleasure and you can associate a new meaning to it. I hope you can desensitize this one. At 52, have had this since a young boy, I am way past gum chewing. A very planned day with a combo of earplugs in when possible, headphones and music or radio( Radio gives a great white noise effect) I can just about be in most environments. The big issues are close connections at work where the issues become embarrassing or just plain job threatening. To this, I single out the biggest problem people and give as much as I can to them. With the laws of reciprocity on my side, I can eventually tell them of my issue and how much I would appreciate them finding some other way deal with these loud needs. I was just fired from a badly needed job. Although I had made the peace with the snorter, and food with mouth open guy, it was very rough in the beginning. The danger there was, he never liked me and could and did use this info to really get to me. This really is such a horrible experience. After all, by desensitizing to the sound by hearing it while in another mind state, you can attach new meanings to the sounds. You will likely always have this, so get good with sound protection. A good arsenal makes life so much easier. A secret weapon for this is bounty paper towel earplugs. You roll up just enough to hide in your ears. Lube them with aloe vera after sun clear cream and you will live a lot happier. The Aloe stops any kind of ear irritation, and seems to keep the outer ear healthy. Change plugs every 12 hours. I have lived with this for about 30 years. Several things will retrieve the plugs with very little effort. Have never hurt my ears. These are a lifesaver. With careful practice, you can hear what ever you need to hear, and block out when the trigger shows up.Good luck my dear,
      Jeff
      jeffhast@live.com

      1. Hi Jeff, thanks for your note. Sorry to hear how difficult it’s been for you. I have tried EMDR for other issues but didn’t really like it. I am currently doing a therapy called Internal Family Systems Therapy …I am going to talk to my therapist about it for the misophonia. I’ll let you know if it helps. Something I noticed is if I nicely ask someone to not do whatever (crunch chips, snap gum etc.) and they react positively, it seems to reduce my irritation, even if it’s temporary. I seem to have the most problem with people being inconsiderate. If I think they’re at least trying to reduce the irritating noise, I seem to be able to accept it easier. Best wishes Jeff…

  9. sorry to come into this so late. there are now several people who report great success in ridding themselves of misophonia by using neurofeedback. apparently the younger the brain, the faster the results
    please see the facebook misophonia sites and the UK and Australia sites for more information.

  10. I’ve only just discovered that this condition exists and it’s a relief to know I’m not crazy! I’ve spent years going mad at noises to do with the mouth. Eating is the most common trigger, but ‘champing’ as I call it, sounds like eating noisily but with an empty mouth, is something my partner does in his sleep subconsciously!
    I’ve found that my reaction to the triggers vary, the more stressed I am, the worse it is. So insomnia makes night time noises unbearable!
    Thank you for an interesting read and making me aware that I’m not alone in this!

  11. I’ve also been struggling with misophonia for about 20 years. It is so painful, isolating, embarrassing, unbearable. I read a ton about it since 2010 when my psychiatrist said he thought I had it. I’ve tried CBT, antidepressants, anti-anxiety meds, etc, but nothing helped. I read that neurofeedback has been effective for some people, and fought with my insurance company to get them to pay for it (I won!). I’ve now had 7 sessions but no relief. Most people who report reduction in symptoms seem to get relief after 40 sessions. I work from home which is helpful but also makes my husband my primary target. I hate it. Has anybody found anything helpful? Misophonia sucks.

    1. I am curious about neurofeedback, but I haven’t tried it. Can you report back if it starts working for you? I’d love to hear your perspective.

  12. I empathize with all other Misophonia suffers. I can’t remember the exact age I was when I developed this affliction, but it was sometime around 10-12 years old. I’m 47 now…and if anything, the symptoms, as well as the “trigger sounds” have increased and magnified.
    Everyone that knows me, and are sympathetic, anyway, are quiet around me… almost to the point of being afraid of me. That makes me feel terrible! While others antagonize me by making sounds they know I can not tolerate. That makes me enraged! And they just laugh and laugh. Word of advice… don’t tell anyone about your affliction, if you dont want them to use it on you constantly ( I dont associate with my family anymore, due to this)
    So, until there is some type of cure or help for this condition, I will sit here with my ear buds in listening to music or running a loud fan, self-medicating and waiting for the day the sounds will be over!

    1. Thanks for sharing your story. Your family sounds cruel! I also avoid telling people because I’m worried it will somehow be used to mess with me.

    2. Its true the cold cruel world hurts. I have all of what you have. Here is a slight injection that does make a difference. Find where you can give. Make rules for people in your space, but give. Wear the head phones and give. Cook free meals. teach kids or adults music. tutor kids after school. give. Do free gardening for a neighbor. For me the sound of dogs barking hurts, but the gardening is a great place to be, with headphones. The only real pleasure I get is being able to pass along great things about me, because I must live so shut down. Just lost another new love relationship. Feels about feels time to give up on that. Just don’t like to give up.

  13. catlinjenny@gmail.com | Reply

    Sitting at work, listening to a student eat a Tootsie Roll Pop. The inhumanity. Thanks for blogging, since I discovered that this is a condition that others suffer with, I have felt much less insane.

  14. Has anyone had success with DBT or EMDR? If so how often do you attend sessions?

    1. QueenJellyBean | Reply

      Hi Catherine,
      I spent 2 years in weekly EMDR sessions specifically for gum chewing triggers. Absolutely no improvement. Actually I became a bit more sensitive in the office.
      –The EMDR practitioner who treated me for 2 years teaches the technique all over the world, a respected expert who has helped others overcome triggers. Those others who have been helped were probably not ‘misphoniacs’. She was so into the EMDR technique, that she failed to identify a ‘misphonia’ diagnosis.
      –One more thought on EMDR: I did EMDR last year for 3 months twice a week with a different practitioner. The EMDR was very effective last year, but not for misophonia. The purpose of EMDR is to recategorize in your brain the sensory experience you had that was overwhelming at the time. Last year a criminal I randomly ran into on the street attacked me, so that was the type of experience EMDR is designed to help. I was able to recategorize my memories of that single traumatic episode until I didn’t feel the need to think about it often. Mispohonia, as I’ve experienced it since I was 4, is very unlike a traumatic episode that causes post-traumatic stress.
      I hope that helps.
      My current hope is to desensitize at least a little by trying the “Neuro Programmer III” sound sessions. That’s what the acupuncturist recommended. I’ve tried a lot (a lot) of other therapies in the past, not knowing that ‘misphonia’ is a specific thing.

  15. Another blogging Misophoniac here! I look forward to reading yours 🙂

  16. QueenJellyBean | Reply

    about your concern regarding wearing headphones all day at work and the fear of ear infections. I avoid the infections by putting a few drops of hydrogen peroxide in the ear in once a day. The peroxide kind of dries it out, which is better than letting the ear get wet due to being plugged up for hours, which would make a perfect environment for ear infections. Surfers do this too to avoid ear infections.
    I wear earphones 8 hours a day in the office (the big fan on my desk isn’t enough white noise). I haven’t lost any hearing. One helpful resource I’d like to share with others who have misophonia too: look at the reviews people write in to Amazon.com on the “noise cancelling headphones” items (I have bought many of these, I have spare headphones in my purse and car at all times). Another helpful resource for us is simplynoise.com (free white noise) and simplyrain.com.

    1. Interesting suggestion about the hydrogen peroxide. I’ll give it a try!

  17. After finding out what misophonia was, I’ve come to really appreciate blogs like yours and other resources on the internet that make me feel less crazy! Everything I’ve read implies that this is a physiological condition, not psychological, implying that CBT or other therapies may provide some relief but likely won’t solve the problem – depressing! I noticed maybe 15 years ago, when I was about 13, that the sound of my parents sniffing bothered me. I remember very distinctly at that moment, thinking “this is going to be a long life…” depressing! My tolerance for sounds ebbs and flows a bit – I do find that I improve when I don’t wear earplugs as often, if I wear them too much in the day I become so sensitive to sounds that wouldn’t otherwise bother me.

    I struggle greatly with sniffing, gum chewing, gum popping, little whistles/clicks when people talk, low-frequency noise from neighbors (like the bass of a TV or stereo). By far it is the quiet sounds, not the loud ones, that trouble me. I wear earplugs around my parents almost 100% of the time – after living in their house for years with misophonia I became very sensitive to their particular noises and the visual triggers that accompany – dad rubbing his nose, mom using her tongue to get food out from between her teeth – even dad playing with his wedding ring (which he does constantly and doesn’t reflect a sound) are all impossible for me to watch.

    I used to just sit through it and be very irritable, sometimes picking a fight for an excuse to leave the table (what can I say, I was a teenager) but since discovering earplugs I’ve been much happier, though I would say that my response to the visual cues often gets worse when I can’t hear the accompanying sounds. I wear headphones all day at work, and frequently glare at and think angry thoughts toward whoever is making the offensive sound. If i’m close to someone, like my parents or boyfriend, I ask them not to chew gum around me. Can’t say that to a coworker I don’t know well, so I just try to block the sound as best I can. Sometimes just knowing I have earplugs with me helps and makes me feel safer – I worry about making it through the day if I don’t have them! I’ve changed train cars to avoid passengers smacking their gum, I wear earplugs in films so I don’t hear popcorn crunching, I wear earplugs to bed every single night, I don’t wear my hair up in public since then I couldn’t wear earplugs if I needed…some days are harder than others but it is always in the back of my mind.

    I hope it won’t get worse over time. I try to rely on relaxation techniques (and very rarely, anxiety medication) to deal with the panic attack fight-or-flight feeling, but I have not been able to see benefits from any exposure therapy. It does not get easier for me to hear these sounds. It feels very much like a brain miswiring, just the way I am. Generally I feel very normal and function well. Most people’s eating sounds don’t bother me (though gum always does), and in a crowded/noisy environment I feel totally fine and safe! There are lots of sounds that don’t bother me, and l try to live my life as normally as possible. But in those moments when I hear gum popping and don’t know whether to scream, hit my head against the wall, run from the room… at those moments i feel truly crazy and am grateful to know I’m not alone!

  18. Thanks. Helpful to know others understand. Had an excruciating plane ride yesterday. It’s so frustrating. I wear earplugs to the movies.

  19. Guess my story is similar to most of the rest of you. But it still is awful. Have learned to never bring anybody home. Am raising my two boys alone. I told a new perspective girlfriend about this tonight. Her comment was, sounds complicated. And it is. I live with headphones on. Each aspect of this brings on additional issues. Do the magnets interfere with my mind in anyway. Ear bud type headphones use fairly strong magnets. I live where there are always dogs barking. It is one of my worst triggers. My new job has a snorter. I wear head phones as often as possible. He already hates me and someone tipped him off I don’t like snorting, so he makes a point to do it often. Wow, That kind of thing really makes you wiped out by the end of the day. I stayed in a low paying job for nearly 5 years because it was basically safe from noise. I am after double the pay, but the true consequences are horrifying. At 51, having spent a lifetime doing this, I really was hoping for a shot at a new woman in my life. But the reality is like saying, you will be committing yourself to a really challenged person. I get frustrated allot. If I take off the headphones and dogs start to bark, I start to swear. It is just such a disaster. The up side is I have come to terms with being giving and honest. I give to lots of people. I am a good and loving father. I do make a point, daily if needed to remind my boys that it is me, not them causing this pain. Very unlike my own fathers approach. I am gifted smart in some areas, and really lacking in others. Have studied psychology for years, but no relief. So if anyone gets any kind of ideas on how to shut it off, I am all ears. Pun intended. I have found during sexual arousal, the triggers disappear. Have tried to link this up with repeated exposure, but seems to return with the same intensity. Have had a burglar trying to break into the house, that too cancelled out the triggers. But only temporarily. After the episode, back to normal. I am living out side of the USA now, and in this small country, there just isnt anybody with a clue about this. So, any idieas online sure would be a blessing. Good luck to all. Wear your earplugs!!!

    1. Triggers expand becuase of the neurobiology of the disorder. http://www.sound-rage.com. The book will be out this summer in paperback. It is fairly technical, but it does explain why and how the brain processes triggers.

      1. Update: correct email is info@sound-rage.com

Leave a Reply

